The Greater Shreveport Chamber of Commerce and Bossier City Chamber have announced the names of their 2014 ATHENA Awards.

The awards are presented to individuals who have attained and personified "the highest level of professional excellence by showing creativity and initiative in their business or profession, have devoted time and energy to improve the quality of life for others in the community in a meaningful way, and have opened doors of leadership opportunities for women in order for them to achieve their full potential."

This year, the awards go to Lea Desmarteau and Jan Elkins. Here's more about them, courtesy of a Chamber of Commerce news release:

Lea Desmarteau
Photo: Greater Shreveport Chamber of Commerce

Lea Desmarteau created Well Necessities for Life in 1993 when she realized there was a need for advanced testing and treatment for children with sleep disorders. As one of the few regional Sleep Technologists, Lea used her education and experience to test and treat children with life-threatening sleep disorders. In 2006, she designed and built her dream center for medical retail and sleep testing in Ashley Ridge Point, which caught national attention, leading her to a consulting position with Johns Hopkins Hospital Sleep Division.



Jan Elkins
Photo: Bossier Chamber of Commerce

Jan Elkins has been a local media personality for more than 33 years as a TV anchor for KTBS, where she now holds the position of Community Project Director. Over the last 25 years, Jan has raised more than $27-million for St. Jude through the St. Jude Dream Home Giveaway. Jan currently serves on the McDade House Board of Directors. She also formed the group The Phenomenal Women, a group of ladies aged 20 to 25 who are small business entrepreneurs or the CEO of executive directors with non-profit organizations.


Other nominees from the Greater Shreveport Chamber (pictured above) were Dr. Kenna Franklin, Mimi Hedgcock, Dana Jackson, DDS, Meredith McLellan, MBA, Kendra Meiki, Katrina Thomas Robinson and Erica Deshon Thomas.

Other nominees from the Bossier Chamber were Nelda Altimus, Terri Axelson, Lynn Higginbotham, Venita McCellon-Allen, Denis Odom, Vita Riner and Lynn Nelson Stevens.


More From News Radio 710 KEEL