A number of players from the North American Hockey League South Division winner Shreveport Mudbugs were lauded earlier this week as the league announced its 2020-2021 Divisional Awards.

At the head of the pack was Mudbugs forward Braiden Dorfman. The Nashville, Tennessee native was named the division's Most Valuable Player after leading the team to the division crown and setting a Bugs single season scoring record with 59 points (21 goals and 38 assists) in 55 games.

In addition to the MVP award, Dorfman was also named to the league's All South Division First Team and and the NAHL's All League Second Team.

Mudbugs defenseman Chris Hedden was also named to the South Division's top squad and the All Rookie team, scoring 4 goals and adding 25 assists.

Other Shreveport players gaining end-of-season honors were defensemen Aiden Metcalfe and David Breazeale. Metcalfe was given the South Division's Leadership Award. Breazeale got the division's Community Service Award.

Meanwhile, on the ice, the Mudbugs travel to Wichita Falls, Texas Friday night for game three of their best-of-five series against the Warriors. The Bugs lead the South Division championship series 2 games to none, nabbing a pair of home wins last weekend at George's Pond at Hirsch Coliseum.

If the Mudbugs take the series against Wichita Falls, they'll join the three other division champs in traveling to Blaine, Minnesota for NAHL semi-finals and finals, June 18 to 22.


Shreveport Natives Who Made the NBA

LSU's Top QBs Not Named Joe Burrow

More From News Radio 710 KEEL