Shreveport police are taking part in the 2018 "Click It or Ticket" Campaign and you are urged to buckled up. Officers will be on the lookout for motorists not using seat belts.

The local effort is going on now and will run until June 3rd. Officers will be out in force ticketing motorists who are not wearing their seat belts as well as those in violation of other traffic laws.   

Funding for off-duty police personnel will be paid from the Louisiana Highway Safety Commission, as part of the “Click It or Ticket” Campaign. To learn more about the "Click It or Ticket", click on this link.

Here's the Louisiana law on buckling children:

“Every resident of this state who transports a child or children under the age of thirteen years in a motor vehicle which is equipped with safety belts shall have the child properly secured as follows:”

Younger than 6 or weighing less than 60 pounds shall be retrained in a child restraint system:

  • Under 1 year old or less than 20 pounds: rear-facing seat
  • 4-6 years old or 40 to 60 pounds: child booster seat
  • At least 6 years old or weighs over 60 pounds: the vehicle’s safety belt or a booster seat

If you get a seat belt ticket, it will cost you $25 for a first offense and $50 for a 2nd offense.

More From News Radio 710 KEEL