101.7 / 710 KEEL's Robert J Wright and Erin McCarty discuss Friday's news that the committee named by Mayor Adrian Perkins to select three finalists to be the city's next Chief of Police had made their choices, and current Substitute Chief Ben Raymond was not on their list.

According to blogger John Settle, the eight person panel selected Sergeant Michael Carter, Lieutenant Tedris Smith and Assistant Chief Wayne Smith. Those three names were confirmed by other committee members.

From settletalk.com:

"All seven applicants who took the civil service exam passed, with scores ranging from 78 to 94: provisional police chief Ben Raymond (94); Lt. Janice Dailey (92); Sgt. Michael Carter (89); Cpl. Jason Frazier (89); Sgt. Kevin Strickland (88); asst. police chief Wayne Smith (86); and Lt. Tedris Smith (78). The minimum passing score is 75.

The mayor’s eight person advisory committee was composed of Caddo Sheriff Steve Prator; Caddo D.A. James Stewart; Natchitoches Sheriff Victor James; attorneys Laurie Lyons and Ron Miciotto; retired SPD assist. chief E. J. Lewis; former Crime Stoppers director Jim Taliaferro; and Shreveport city council chair Jerry Bowman Jr.

The next Shreveport council work session is on Mon. Sept 23.

It is expected that Perkins will announce his selection at that time–if not sooner. The council can confirm the appointment at its regular meeting on Tues. Sept. 24."

Some committee members said they were shocked that Raymond did not make the final list of applicants.

Mayor Perkins told KEEL news in an August interview that "it would have to be a crazy circimstance" for him not to make his final selection from the committee's recommendations.

More From News Radio 710 KEEL