News Radio 710 KEEL logo
Get our free mobile app

Louisiana vapers have noticed an increase in the prices of vape products as taxes on e-cigarettes and vape products have tripled in Louisiana as of July 1st. Kevin Richard, with the Louisiana Department of Revenue, said retailers must use electronic age verification platforms.

“There’s a requirement that if these vaping products are sold online, the online retailer must verify that the purchaser is at least 21 years of age.”

Taxes have increased from five cents per millileter to .15 cents per millileter.  The Legislative Fiscal Office expects the tax bump to generate an additional $9.8 million in revenue annually on top of the roughly $5 million it currently brings in.

Those retailers that purchase these products tax-free directly from online authorized manufacturers are required to pay the excise tax to the Department of Revenue monthly. Richard says anyone who does not comply will face penalties.

“If the retailer is selling a product that is not on the directory, they could be subject to a $1,000 daily fine. And also, vendors will be subject to a $500 fine per any other offense.”

Beginning Oct. 1, manufacturers will have to register their products with ATC. The law will also create a directory of all vape and alternative nicotine products authorized for sale in the state. Richard says retailers will need to comply…

“There will be some under-cover inspections and some announced inspections to make sure that the products being sold are in compliance with our current laws.”


There is some good news about the increase in taxes... the first $22 million raised annually will go to State Police pay raises.

Why Do Utility Markings Have Different Paint Colors?

See a Behind the Scenes Tour of Shreveport's Municipal Auditorium

More From News Radio 710 KEEL