With a star-studded and scandal-ridden list of first-time players eligible for the Baseball Hall of Fame, doubts lingered about who exactly would make it into Cooperstown.

So, who did?

As it turns out, membership among the greats in the hall of fame will not grow this year, since no one was voted in, it was announced Wednesday.

Craig Biggio, in his first year of eligibility came the closest, picking up 68.2% of the votes, just shy of the 75% needed to be inducted. This marks the first time since 1996 no one will be enshrined.

This year also marked the first year several players associated with steroids had the chance for induction. Barry Bonds, Major League Baseball's all-time home run leader, notched only 36.2% of the vote, while Roger Clemens barely fared better, with 37.6%. Sammy Sosa earned only 12.5%

Mike Piazza, who is the leading home run hitter among catchers, received 57.8% and Curt Schilling got 38.8%. Both of them were also in their first year of eligibility.

Jack Morris secured 67.7% and will appear on the ballot for the final time next year, when he'll be joined by former Atlanta Braves' pitchers Greg Maddux and Tom Glavine, each of whom will be on the ballot for the first time.

More From News Radio 710 KEEL