We take a minute today to honor Caddo’s Teacher and Principal of the Year recipients.

General Election - Education
Matt Cardy, Getty Images

Superintendent Dr. Lamar Goree and his leadership team stopped at several schools to surprise the winners.

Principal of the Year - Michael Ilgenfritz, Caddo Parish Magnet High School

Principal of the Year - Jenifer Guerrero, Youree Drive Middle School

Principal of the Year - Michelle Franklin, E.B. Williams Stoner Hill Elementary School

Teacher of the Year - Katie Strong, C.E. Byrd High School

Teacher of the Year - Kim Whetstone, Herndon Magnet School

Teacher of the Year - Melissa Shaw, South Highlands Elementary Magnet School

Each of these schools held a ceremony to honor these top educators who go above and beyond the call of duty to impact students in the classroom every day.

These winners will now move on to regional competiton and will compete for statewide honors. Top winners in the state will be honored during a ceremony in Baton Rouge.

More From News Radio 710 KEEL