Several local students are in the running for top education honors. The State Department of Education has released the list of youngsters who are regional finalists. These young people are now up for Student of the Year awards.

The 21 students selected include one 5th, 8th and 12th grader from each of the state's seven regions and represent public and non-public elementary, middle and high schools across Louisiana.

State Superintendent John White says

The Department of Education applauds these 21 regional finalists for being recognized as some of the top students in Louisiana. This is a tremendous accomplishment, and we are proud of the hard work and leadership these students have contributed to their classrooms, schools, communities and state.

The students are chosen based on academic achievement, leadership skills, character and service to their schools and communities.

Here are the nominees for this years top honors:


Grade 5:

Ian Knudsen, Kingston Elementary School, Bossier Parish

Colston Brandon, Woodlawn Elementary School, Ouachita Parish

Gillian Myers, Vincent Settlement Elementary School, Calcasieu Parish

Zoe Dieringer, Joseph B. Lancaster Elementary School, St. Tammany Parish

Sofia Giarrusso, Edward Hynes Charter School, Orleans Parish

Sarah-Grace Couvillon, Maria Immacalota Catholic School, Diocese of Houma-Thibodaux

Anna-Marie Poland, Delhi Charter School, Delhi Charter Management Organization

Grade 8:

Ashini Modi, Caddo Middle Magnet School, Caddo Parish

William Nelson, III, Ouachita Junior High School, Ouachita Parish

Zachary Broussard, Erath Middle School, Vermilion Parish

Maddy Manning-Bi, Woodlawn Middle School, East Baton Rouge Parish

Kailie Carrigee, Harry Hurst Middle School, St. Charles Parish

Emma Freeman, St. Margaret Catholic School, Diocese of Lake Charles

Sierra Cotten, Delhi Charter School, Delhi Charter Management Organization

Grade 12:

Sunjay Letchuman, Caddo Parish Magnet High School, Caddo Parish

Kaleb Nolan, West Ouachita Parish High School, Ouachita Parish

Ahraf Swati, Opelousas High School, St. Landry Parish

Erina Buchholz, Baton Rouge Magnet High School, East Baton Rouge Parish

Adeline Martin, South Terrebonne High School, Terrebonne Parish

Evan Dille, Catholic High School, Diocese of Baton Rouge

Maanasa Narayanamoorthy, Benjamin Franklin High School, Advocates for Academic Excellence

The finalists will get together in Baton Rouge on April 11th for the awards ceremony.


More From News Radio 710 KEEL