Charlotte didn't do much to shake up the Chase for the Cup as the top five in the standings all had good finished Saturday night at NASCAR's home track.

Last year's champion Brad Keselowski won the race after Chase combatants Jimmie Johnson and Kasey Kahne dominated most of the race.

Last week, the race at Kansas allowed Kevin Harvick and Jeff Gordon a chance to get a little closer to the top of the Chase after a bad wreck by Kyle Busch knocked him down to fifth in the standings.

This past weekend, points leader Matt Kenseth finished 3rd, one spot ahead of Jimmie Johnson to extend his lead over Johnson to four points.

Kevin Harvick and Jeff Gordon finished sixth and seventh respectively to both lose four points to Kenseth, but maintain their position ahead of Kyle Busch, who is 37 points behind Kenseth.

The waterline in the NASCAR Sprint Cup standings of who has a chance and who doesn't is generally whether a driver is more than or less than 48 points behind the leader.  The most points a driver can earn is 48 points (46 for winning, one for leading a lap, and one for leading the most laps).

Next week, the NASCAR Sprint Cup series travels to Talladega Superspeedway in Talladega, AL, for what is arguably the biggest wild card in the Chase for the Cup.

Results of Bank of America 500 in Charlotte:

  1. Brad Keselowski
  2. Kasey Kahne
  3. Matt Kenseth
  4. Jimmie Johnson
  5. Kyle Busch
  6. Kevin Harvick
  7. Jeff Gordon
  8. Ryan Newman
  9. Denny Hamlin
  10. Carl Edwards
  11. Clint Bowyer
  12. Juan Pablo Montoya
  13. Ricky Stenhouse Jr.
  14. Kurt Busch
  15. Dale Earnhardt Jr.
  16. Greg Biffle
  17. Marcos Ambrose
  18. Joey Logano
  19. Jamie McMurray
  20. Danica Patrick
  21. Jeff Burton
  22. Martin Truex Jr.
  23. Aric Almirola
  24. Paul Menard
  25. Brian Vickers
  26. David Reutimann
  27. Brian Scott
  28. Bobby Labonte
  29. David Gilliland
  30. David Ragan
  31. Casey Mears
  32. Dave Blaney
  33. Landon Cassill
  34. Cole Whitt
  35. Travis Kvapil
  36. Timmy Hill
  37. Kyle Larson
  38. Blake Koch
  39. Joe Nemechek
  40. Michael McDowell
  41. Josh Wise
  42. Mark Martin
  43. JJ Yeley

Bold indicates Chase contender