The race to be Shreveport's next mayor is heating up as we now have a clearer picture of who will be in the race. Ahead of the first day of qualifying, Ray Smith announced that he is no longer interested in running for the office. Then yesterday, the first official day to qualify for the election, 7 candidates made it official the city.

Lee O. Savage was the first person to enter the race and qualify at the Caddo Parish Clerk's office. A short time later, Adrian Perkins joined the fray. Those two were later joined by Jim Taliaferro, Current Mayor Ollie Tyler, Jeron Rodgers, Tremecius Dixon and Steven Jackson.

Those who wish to join the Mayoral or City Council elections have until Friday to qualify. Prior to the official start of qualifying, nine people announced their desire to run in the Mayoral race.

Election day is Tuesday, November 6. The runoff election will be on Saturday, December 8.

As things develop, we will keep you posted with all the details you need to know about the candidates and their plans for our city.

More From News Radio 710 KEEL