It was a big morning at the BREC Independence Park Theater and Cultural Center in Baton Rouge, as Louisiana State Police welcomed 57 new troopers into its ranks.

State Police Superintendent Mike Edmonson was joined by Governor Jindal at this morning's graduation ceremony. The new troopers began their training on August 30, learning about subjects like crash investigation, emergency vehicle operations, impaired driving detection and leadership.

Today, the new recruits received their gold boot badges, and will deploy across the state, where they'll participate in a 12- to 14-week field training program while being supervised by a senior trooper. Eleven of the 57 new troopers have been assigned to Troop G in Bossier City.

"These remarkable men and women have made a decision to embark on a lifetime of public service knowing the extraordinary risks with their chosen profession," said Colonel Edmonson. "The badge they wear is a testament to the hard work, personal sacrifices, and dedication they have put forth towards becoming Louisiana State Troopers. Nonetheless, the privilege of wearing the LSP gold badge must be continually earned as they will be held to the highest standards of honor, integrity, respect, and service as they continue the proud tradition of the Louisiana State Police."

The following is a list of graduates and their Troop assignments:

Troop A - Baton Rouge
David Hernandez
Trenton Palmer
Derrick Parish
Casey Sanchez

Troop B - New Orleans
Benjamin Covell
Cameron Crockett
Mason Davis
Jordan Garrett
Daniel Graff
Darnon Harper
Garrett Jackson
Lance Kramer
Andrew Mai
Brian Melvin
Michael Mims
Joseph Patane
Carlos Pineda
Santiago St. Clair
Jared Taylor

Troop C - Houma/Gray
Brittany Caughlin
Garrett Leboeuf
Justin Leonard
Blake Poincon

Troop D - Lake Charles
Joseph Goodly
Brooke Hebert
Derek Senegal

Troop E - Alexandria
Allen Jackson
Christopher Kelley
Christopher Owens
Corey Patin

Troop F - Monroe
Emmanuel Delasalle
Adam Haneline
Timothy Parker
Darren Ragland

Troop G - Shreveport
John Axsom
Nicholas Blake
Bradley Choate
Brandon Cobb
Brian Coghlan
Coltan Haynes
Melvin Massey
Christopher Perry
Karan Sharma
Marc S. Taylor II
Glenn Younger

Troop I - Lafayette
Vincent Aiola
Jeremy Broussard
Terry Butts
Ryan Davis
Kasha Domingue

Troop L - Mandeville
Jacob Allen
Jeremy Cornette
Dan’l Johnson
Jacob Long
Todd McConnell
Jeffrey Roach
Christopher Sollie

More From News Radio 710 KEEL