Congratulations go out to the LSUS Debate Team. It won the BPCC Eddy Shell Championships over the weekend.

The team advanced nine individuals and two teams into the elimination rounds and had the top speaker in three of the four divisions of debate.

Elizabeth Kemp and Madelyn Snead took first place in the team debate. This is their last regular season tournament before they join teammate Colby Walker and coach Trey Gibson with the U.S. team as it competes against Great Britain in the Montgomery Cup. That's set for March 5, 2015.

Kemp earned the top speaker award in the team debate division. Malvya Chintakindi earned the top speaking award in the professional division, and Faizan Farooque won the top speaker award in the novice division.

LSUS finished the tournament ahead of second-place Lee College and third-place University of Tennessee at Knoxville.

The rest of the LSUS squad will travel to the University of Central Arkansas to compete in the IPDA Team National Tournament, then finishes the season with the IPDA Individual Debate National Championship at Boise State at the end of March.

More From News Radio 710 KEEL