Contact Us

Seven New Laws For Louisiana Drivers Go Into Effect Today

police car
Dmitriy Eremenkov via Thinkstock

Today is a day that affects all drivers here in the great state of Louisiana.

Seven new laws for all drivers go into effect today, August 1. I’d hate for you to get a ticket without knowing the new laws, so I figured I’d help you out by posting them all right here!

Read carefully, and drive safe!


1

School Zone Cell Phone Ban

 
 

If you find yourself in a school zone, don't you dare touch that phone! You cannot use your phone whatsoever while driving through a school zone. This includes texting, calling, reading, gaming, drawing, Siri-ing, etc. School zone = NO PHONE.

 
2

Louisiana Litter Law Updates

 
 

If you smoke, don't throw out your cigarettes or cigarette butts! This is now considered litter and you will be fined heavily. The fine for a first offense increases to $300 with 8 hours of community service in a litter abatement program, second offense to $700 with 16 hours of litter abatement, and a third and subsequent offense to $1,500 with 80 hours of service in a litter abatement program.

 
3

Six Year Driver’s License Renewal

 
 

You now have six years to renew your driver's license, instead of four. With a fee increase to cover the extension. Fee increases vary by class of license, area of residence, and age of license applicant.

 
4

Inspection Exemptions for Certain Trailers

 
 

All single-axle, two-wheeled trailers and boat trailers are exempt from state inspection requirements and have the obligation to bear a valid safety inspection certificate/sticker.

 
5

Vehicle Inspections Can be Conducted in Rain

 
 

I'm excited about this one! It seems every time I make plans to get my car inspected, it's raining cats and dogs. Well now -- rain or shine -- your car can be inspected. As long as the conditions are safe, you are good to go!

 
6

Increased Penalties for Fatigued Drivers in Fatal Crashes

 
 

If you're tired, pull over! If you are driving and cause a wreck that leads to the death of a human being, due to falling asleep at the wheel, you will receive increased penalties. Also, motorists involved in a fatality crash may also be charged with Negligent Homicide.

 
7

Vehicular Homicide classified as a crime of violence

 
 

If you're drunk, DO NOT DRIVE. Nothing new there; just don't do it.

The act of Vehicular Homicide (causing the death of a person due to a crash where the driver was impaired) will now be classified as a crime of violence when the offender’s blood alcohol concentration exceeds 0.20 grams percent. The amended classification allows for increased penalties for impaired drivers involved in fatality crashes.

 

More from 710 KEEL

Best of the Web

Leave a Comment

It appears that you already have an account created within our VIP network of sites on . To keep your points and personal information safe, we need to verify that it's really you. To activate your account, please confirm your password. When you have confirmed your password, you will be able to log in through Facebook on both sites.

Forgot your password?

*Please note that your points, prizes and activities will not be shared between programs within our VIP network.

It appears that you already have an account on this site associated with . To connect your existing account with your Facebook account, just click on the account activation button below. You will maintain your existing profile and VIP program points. After you do this, you will be able to always log in to http://710keel.com using your Facebook account.

*Please note that your points, prizes and activities will not be shared between programs within our VIP network.

Please fill out the information below to help us provide you a better experience.

Register on News Radio 710 KEEL quickly by logging in with your Facebook account. It's just as secure, and no password to remember!

Not a Member? Sign Up Here

Register on News Radio 710 KEEL quickly by logging in with your Facebook account. It's just as secure, and no password to remember!