In the first quarter the Razorbacks were leading the Tigers 14-0. Then, Tyrann Mathieu of LSU returned a punt 92 yards for LSU's first score of the game.

The Tigers punished third-ranked Arkansas with 286 yards rushing, with a 41-17 win securing a spot in the SEC championship.

Kenny Hilliard, Spencer Ware and Jordan Jefferson all scored on the ground for LSU. The Tigers are 12-0 for the first time and will play No. 13 Georgia next weekend in Atlanta.

Arkansas took a surprising 14-0 lead on Tyler Wilson’s TD pass to Jarius Wright and Alonzo Highsmith’s 47-yard fumble return, but LSU stormed back by scoring 41 of the next 44 points in the game.

The rivalry game known as the battle for “The Boot,” a trophy in the shape of Arkansas and Louisiana, marked the first time two teams ranked in the top three had met in Death Valley since 1959, when Cannon’s 89-yard punt return lifted No. 1 LSU to a 7-3 win over No. 3 Mississippi.